Ange Postecoglou defended referee Stuart Attwell’s controversial decision not to issue a second yellow card to Lucas Bergvall during the lead-up to his decisive goal on Wednesday night. However, a VAR expert has stated that Liverpool had every right to be outraged over the failure to dismiss the Swedish youngster. Bergvall’s 86th-minute goal secured Tottenham’s 1-0 victory in the first leg of the Carabao Cup semi-final.
Liverpool manager Arne Slot was visibly furious on the sidelines after Bergvall, already booked, brought down Kostas Tsimikas in the build-up to the goal but escaped further punishment. Earlier in the match, the 18-year-old had been shown a yellow card for a sliding challenge on Luis Diaz, though replays showed minimal contact. The absence of Tsimikas, who was sidelined during the decisive play, compounded Liverpool’s frustration, with a member of their coaching staff receiving a booking for their reaction instead.
When asked whether Bergvall was fortunate to remain on the pitch, Postecoglou told Sky Sports: “No, he wasn’t. No, he wasn’t! People are misinterpreting my comments from earlier. The rule is, and we’ve been told this for some time, that if advantage is played, as long as it’s not a cynical tackle, it’s not a yellow card.”
VAR Expert’s Verdict on Bergvall’s Incident
Dale Johnson, a VAR expert and editor for ESPN, criticized the decision in a post on X, asserting that Bergvall should have received a second yellow card. He explained:
“It wasn’t about stopping a promising attack, which wouldn’t lead to a caution if the play continued. This was a reckless tackle and should have been punished regardless of the outcome of the attack.”
Johnson also outlined three key errors in Postecoglou’s interpretation of the rules:
1. Bergvall’s challenge was reckless, not simply stopping a promising attack (SPA).
2. Advantage cannot be applied for a second yellow unless it’s an immediate goal-scoring opportunity.
3. Referee Stuart Attwell did not indicate he played advantage, suggesting he believed no foul occurred.
Johnson further clarified that the law dictates play must stop for a second yellow card. Even if the referee deemed the challenge SPA, advantage should not have been applied in this situation. Instead, Attwell appeared to gesture that Bergvall had played the ball, a potential misjudgment.
In summary, Johnson concluded that whether the referee failed to recognize the reckless nature of the tackle or misapplied the advantage rule, Liverpool had valid grounds for frustration.
Leave a Reply